Too Blessed to be Stressed

I’ve changed the topic of this post several times this week. It was originally going to be about grace, but it has been quite the interesting week and this topic seems to be more appropriate.

I’ve never really understood the phrase “Too blessed to be stressed” until now. Between classes, babysitting, sorority stuff, getting ready for Old South this weekend, getting a very not so good test grade back, and a 15 page paper and presentation due this week, to say I’ve been overwhelmed would be an understatement. Normally all of this would stress me out (and maybe it is but staying up till 6 this morning is masking the stress), but this week I have been very zen.

Today is my grandfather’s birthday and as my brother and I surprised him for a birthday dinner tonight, it all began to make sense to me. Ever since Grandma passed away two weeks ago there have been a lot of things going through my mind. A lot of things that I would like to do differently. I’ve also started listening to a Country Hymns Pandora station. I know, sounds lame for a college student to admit this, but the inspiration that it provides while I’m studying is the best. Grandma always emphasized how blessed she was because of her faith and her family. The two most important things in anyones life. Without these, nothing will be satisfying.

Well tonight as I was driving away from talking to my brother in the parking lot of California Dreaming for about an hour I began to cry. This is normal for me (I just love my family so), but this was different. I was not sad, I was overwhelmed. I am so incredibly blessed.

I have my family, my faith, my health, and friends that provide the support I need at school. Even though by normal standards this week has been downright rotten, I have been in an amazing mood and it’s because this feeling of blessings. I have not stressed about getting my paper and presentation done. I have not worried about what will happen for my future. I know it will all work out. I know it will all be done according to God’s plan. And most importantly, I know that alongside with God I have my family that will always be here to support me.

Therefore, I’m too blessed to be stressed.

Keep Dancing,

Cayla

Leave a Reply

