Busy as a Bee

I’m officially the worst at blogging. But a new post is better than none.

Second semester has begun and it’s going to be an adventure. Between babysitting, 16 hours (one of which is a lab), and sorority commitments I don’t have much time to breathe. My favorite classes so far are investments and financial statement analysis. I have started reading the Wall Street Journal everyday so that I can keep up with the world financially. I find it very intriguing. We have started fake trading for investments. We have 1 million fake dollars and the person who has the most money at the end of the semester gets extra credit. I doubt that will be me, but I hope to learn a good bit so that I may be a better investor later in life. Financial Statement Analysis is exactly what it sounds like. We are learning how to tell from financial statements if a business would be a good investment. Most people do not find these things interesting, but I believe that to be successful anyone would need these tips. You must be able to determine for yourself whether something is a good investment. You cannot rely on a personal investor because they may push you into investing in something that is not right for you, whether it be based on finances or your personality.

My latest inspiration has been from the Levo League. I’ve been on a quest to decide what to do with my life lately. Well, it’s mostly trying to decide how I’m going to get there because honestly I have no idea. The ladies at the Levo League give great advice on everything from your resume and LinkedIn profile to your personal life, such as some of my favorites “3 Lies You’re Telling Yourself About Your 20s” and “Lose the Snooze: Help Finding Motivation to Wake Up Earlier”. Their career quotes post also made me realize that it’s okay that I don’t know what I want to do with my life, most people still don’t know. The only thing that really matters is that I’m putting myself out there and trying to figure it out. At Wofford, this has been the tone of the entire Junior class. Everyone’s applying for internships and just trying to get their name out there. It’s a wonderful feeling.

This wonderful feeling also reminds me of my major news! I’ve completed my application to study abroad in Milan next semester! I’m so excited, scared, nervous, anxious, and many other emotions all at the same time. I have a couple more things to do for IES before I find out if I’ve been accepted, but it’s still a major deal.

So many major things going on in life right now and it just seems to be passing by too quickly!

Until next time,
Cayla

This is my favorite quote from the career quotes post by the Levo League!

Dreaming-about-the-future

Leave a Reply

